Facebook Twitter Linkedin

World Sanskrit Conference

The main task of the IASS is to organise a World Sanskrit Conference (WSC), usually every three years, at different venues around the world and the New Delhi conference in 1972 has been recognised as the first WSC of the IASS. Over the years the WSCs have been successful in creating cooperation in a number of common causes, both in defence of the discipline and in encouraging important fields of research, while numbers of participants has increased steadily (with particularly large attendances at the conferences held in India: Varanasi in 1981, Bangalore in 1997 and New Delhi in 2012). The WSC in New Delhi in 2012 was the 15th.

Full list of WSCs:

16th WSC at Bangkok, Thailand in 2015  
15th WSC at New Delhi, India in 2012  
14th WSC at Kyoto, Japan in 2009  
13th WSC at Edinburgh, Scotland, U.K. in 2006  
12th WSC at Helsinki, Finland in 2003  
11th WSC at Torino, Italy in 2000  
10th WSC at Bangalore, India in 1997  
9th WSC at Melbourne, Australia in 1994
8th WSC at Vienna, Austria in 1990  
7th WSC at Leiden, The Netherlands in 1987
6th WSC at Philadelphia, United States of America in 1984
5th WSC at Varanasi, India in 1981
4th WSC at Weimar, German Democratic Republic in 1979  
3rd WSC at Paris, France in 1977  
2nd WSC at Torino, Italy in 1975
1st WSC at New Delhi, India in 1972

Forthcoming World Sanskrit Conferences:

17th WSC in Vancouver (
18th WSC in Canberra, Australia in 2021 (details to follow later)

Photo Gallery